ECEM 2019


Due to multiple requests, the deadline for symposia proposals for the 2019 European Conference on Eye Movements (ECEM) has been further extended until March 5th (final deadline). Please find full details at: For selected symposia, articles based on conference presentations will be published as special issues in the Journal of Eye Movement Research

Abstract submissions for talk/poster sessions are now also open, until April 5th:

Register before the early fee deadline and save on fees. Early registration deadline: June 17th.

We are also delighted to announce ECEM 2019’s confirmed keynote speakers:

Jennifer Groh (Duke University)
Hamutal Slovin (Bar Ilan University)
Martin Rolfs (Humboldt University of Berlin)
Janet Rucker (New York University)
Enkelejda Kasneci (University of Tübingen)

ECEM 2019 will be in Alicante, Spain (August 18-22)
Alicante, with more than 320,000 inhabitants, is a traditional maritime city located on the Mediterranean Sea. The old part of the city encompasses Postiguet Beach, two marinas and a large commercial port. The city embraces an imposing 166-meter rocky hill right next to the sea, Monte Benacantil, crowned by The Castillo de Santa Bárbara (Santa Barbara Castle). This is one of the largest castles on the Mediterranean, and the conference dinner will take place within its premises, with breathtaking views over the city and the Mediterranean. The slopes of Monte Benacantil surround the old city of Alicante (El Barrio) like a shield. El Barrio is well known for its vibrant nightlife.
The local organizing team has secured a large block of hotel rooms at special discounted rates for the conference. Specific hotel information will be made available on the website in March 2019. Lodging in the area is reasonably priced, but accommodations can become limited in the high summer season. We advise early hotel reservation.

Publication of Abstracts
Accepted abstracts will be published as a special issue in the Journal of Eye Movement Research (Editor: Rudolf Groner, Bern). ECEM 2017’s abstracts are available at:

On Behalf of the Local Organization Committee
Luis Martinez-Otero (chair), Albert Compte, and Susana Martinez-Conde